Housing a global population of 40 billion, the cities are divided into levels and success and prestige is measured by how far above the ground one lives. Some — in the Above — live in great comfort. Beneath the cities lie the ruins of old Earth — the Clay — a lightless, stygian hell in which, astonishingly, humans still exist. In addition to the world of levels, there are the great meat-animal pens and sprawling, vast plantations to feed the population. There is also activity beyond Earth. The ruling classes — who base their rule on the customs and fashions of imperial China — maintain traditional palaces and courts both on Earth and in geostationary orbit.

Author:Dagar Gull
Language:English (Spanish)
Published (Last):21 November 2016
PDF File Size:17.69 Mb
ePub File Size:2.88 Mb
Price:Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]

Academically he did well enough, but — mistakenly — decided to enter the world of Banking. A Diploma in Banking quickly followed, but not before he got the SF bug in his eighteenth year. He read Asimov and Heinlein and thought he could do better than both.

But he was hooked. Very few of these were ever submitted after the first few years but were seen as lessons to be learned.

All of them still exist in files in two small grey filing cabinets. Seven years in banking was about all he could take. He quit the day before his twenty fifth birthday in , encouraged by his then partner, Susan Oudot, and went to the University of Kent, Canterbury, where he proceeded to read English and American Lit.

Three years later he got a First with Honours. A Masters followed, and then three years researching a doctorate on Lawrence, Hardy and Golding. This had ballooned to a fulsome pages when he quit working on it to pursue a new fictional project, then called A Perfect Art. Between and , when it was submitted, the work changed title twice, becoming first A Spring Day at the Edge of the World and thenChung Kuo, under which title it was sold eventually to 18 publishers throughout the world in the Autumn Fall of , the first volume, The Middle Kingdom, appearing in Between and , David Wingrove released eight volumes in his critically-acclaimed Chung Kuo series.

This sequence is set two centuries in the future and depicts a world of 35 billion people ruled by the Chinese, who have come to dominate the world and built vast, continent-spanning cities consisting of hundreds of levels. Real history has been erased, particularly the achievements of the West, and a stratified, rigidly hierarchal society has come into being, enforced by the police and military.

The books chronicle the fractures appearing in this society, eventually leading to war. The series was originally envisaged as a nine-book series, but the publishers dropped the final book, forcing Wingrove to hurriedly to rewrite the eighth book to conclude the series in a manner that did not satisfy himself or his fans. The publishers did minimal publicity for the final book and it quickly disappeared from view, followed by the rest of the series. However, the Chung Kuo series has now arisen, phoenix-like, from the dead.

Corvus-Atlantic have picked up the series and will be reissuing it starting in September Over half a million words of new material was written for the new editions. In addition, the existing large books have been broken down into smaller, more economical volumes so that the entire series now spans a mind-boggling nineteen books of around ,, words apiece, somewhere well north of 2 million words and maybe closer to 3 to put this another way, the 11 Jordan-authored Wheel of Time books come to about 3 million words.

After a series launch in May , Quercus will embark on an ambitious publishing programme that will see all nineteen volumes available by the end of Three novels currently exist in this sequence, with more to come. On the personal side, David Wingrove is still with his partner, Susan Oudot, and between them they have produced four daughters: Jessica 14 , Amelia 12 , Georgia 9 and Francesca 4. They married in July David Wingrove currently lives with his family in Islington, North London, where they have been struggling to renovate an old and rambling early Victorian mansion.

There is also the small matter of a TV project, The Portal, which may or may not get made. We recently conducted a poll among visitors and the Memory Man series was voted the 8th most favourite series by all readers. If you ARE an avid reader of it then great news — a new book is coming out very soon!!!

Pre-order now. Please Note The links beside each book title will take you to Amazon, who I feel are the best online retailer for books where you can read more about the book, or purchase it.

Please note that as an Amazon Associate, I earn money from qualifying purchases. Recommendations Every 2 weeks we send out an e-mail with Book Recommendations. Insert your e-mail below to start getting these recommendations. If you see one missing just send me an e-mail below. Then you need to read the Coffeehouse Mysteries.

This series by Cleo Coyle has been going strong since and is still publishing highly rated books every year. An excellent series to get you through the cold months. More details. However there is a lot more to Blake than just that series. He has written some of the best sci-fi books there is such as Dark Matter and Recursion. More Details. Did You Know… Jack Reacher never needs a watch, as he always knows what time it is in his head.

This has sometimes played both major and minor parts in many of the plots of the novels he features in.


Chung Kuo Series



David Wingrove



Chung Kuo (novel series)




Related Articles